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The Victim Compensation and Government Claims Board (VCGCB) 
administers the California Victim Compensation Program (CalVCP). 
CalVCP can reimburse victims for crime-related expenses such as 
medical and mental health treatment, funeral costs, relocation  
and income loss.

According to California law, CalVCP can only reimburse victims for 
crime-related expenses if there are no other sources of reimburse-
ment. If CalVCP reimburses a victim for losses, but another source 
of funds becomes available to the victim due to the same criminal 
incident, CalVCP is entitled to reimbursement.

This guide is intended to help CalVCP claimants and attorneys 
understand the requirements for repaying victim compensation  
relating to reimbursement from, but not limited to, civil suits,  
workers’ compensation and vehicle insurance. 

All monies recovered by the VCGCB are deposited into the State’s 
Restitution Fund and are used to assist victims of crime in California. 

Liens Against Settlements, Awards and Judgments
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CalVCP is entitled to be repaid when a recipient of victim  
compensation funds receives a judgment, award or settle-
ment for their crime-related expenses. The amount of repay-
ment will not exceed the amount of compensation granted 
by CalVCP. 

CalVCP must be given notice and opportunity to collect  
repayment before the settlement funds, where CalVCP has  
an interest, are disbursed.1

If a recipient of victim compensation initiates a lawsuit for 
monetary damages or reimbursement through an insurance 
claim, that person or their attorney must notify CalVCP within 
30 days of filing any action or submitting a claim. 

Similarly, if a recipient of victim compensation receives  
reimbursement from another source due to the same  
criminal incident, the recipient or their attorney  
must notify CalVCP. 

California law gives CalVCP statutory lien rights on any settle-
ment or funds received by the compensation recipient that 
are related to the same criminal incident.

In order to apply for and receive victim compensation, all 
applicants must agree to the above reporting requirements. 

REPAYMENT OF VICTIM FUNDS
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A lien is a legal right or interest against another person’s 
real or personal property, in order to settle a debt or pay 
an obligation.

A lien may be filed by CalVCP to recover any money received 
by, or on behalf of the claimant as a result of the same crimi-
nal incident, from any source in the amount of the compen-
sation granted by VCGCB.2

If the lien demand is disregarded by the claimant or attorney, 
it will be considered an overpayment. VCGCB has contracted 
with the California Franchise Tax Board (FTB) to recover over-
payments, through garnishment if necessary, and may pursue 
all legal remedies available.

WHAT IS A LIEN?
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As noted, the recipient of victim compensation and his or 
her attorney must notify CalVCP within 30 days of initiating 
any civil lawsuit that is related to the crime for which victim 
compensation has been or is being paid. 

Written notification to CalVCP must contain the following 
information and documents:

The victim compensation recipient or attorney will be 
mailed information explaining the necessary steps and 
options available to satisfy the payment obligation, if any.

For more information about which documents to  
include, please call CalVCP’s Revenue Recovery Section at 
916.491.3766.

NOTIFYING CalVCP OF CIVIL LAWSUITS

Under certain circumstances, CalVCP may also reduce a lien by 
up to 25 percent if the total amount of the lien is rewarded.2

After the balance of the lien has been paid or resolved, a satis-
faction and release of the lien will be provided to the claim-
ant’s attorney or directly to the claimant, if not represented. 

•	 Names and addresses of all parties named in the lawsuit, 
except for those persons represented by an attorney, in  
which case include only the parties name and the name  
and address of the attorney. 

	
	
	
	

•	 The nature of the claim asserted or action brought.

•	 The full title of the case, including the identity of the court  
agency, the county where the lawsuit is filed and case or  
docket number.

	
	

•	 Settlement documents including the name and address 
of the insurance company directly or indirectly  
providing satisfaction. 
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WORKERS’ COMPENSATION CLAIMS

•	 Temporary disability 

•	 Permanent disability

•	 Proceeds of a compromise and release3

CalVCP must be provided with proper notice of any workers’ 
compensation claim related to the same incident or injuries 
for which victim compensation has been paid or is being paid.

All forms of workers’ compensation may be subject to repay-
ment including but not limited to:

CalVCP is required to prove that its funds were paid to, or 
on behalf of, the injured worker relating to the same crime 
or injuries for which he or she has filed a workers’ compen-
sation claim. CalVCP will assert its lien against the injured 
worker’s settlement.

CalVCP’s lien is a statutory lien. All benefits provided by 
CalVCP are recoverable pursuant to California Labor Code 
for the amount of indemnification granted by CalVCP.4

Information about filing a workers’ compensation claim is 
available at dwc.ca.gov.
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CalVCP must be provided with proper notice of any vehicle 
insurance claim (automotive, boat, motorcycle, aircraft, etc.) 
related to the same injuries for which victim compensation 
has been paid or is being paid.

Notification must include the following:

Insurance company information must also include the 
names of the adjustors, addresses, phone numbers and all 
policy/claim numbers.

CalVCP has subrogation rights, meaning that CalVCP can 
request re-payment from third-parties such as an insurance 
company, on behalf of the victim compensation recipient.5 

VEHICLE INSURANCE CLAIMS

•	 Names and addresses of all parties in the claim

•	 Names and addresses of all insurance companies

•	 Nature of the claim or action brought

7



Attorneys and/or victim compensation recipients who 
receive crime-related reimbursements, including but not 
limited to, civil lawsuits, workers’ compensation or vehicle 
insurance, must contact CalVCP’s Revenue Recovery Section 
within 30 days of filing an action.

If the settlement or reimbursement has been distributed 
and the obligation to repay CalVCP is disregarded, then it 
will be considered an overpayment. CalVCP has contracted 
with FTB to recover the money through garnishment and 
will pursue all legal remedies available.

WHAT IF CalVCP IS NOT NOTIFIED 
OF A SETTLEMENT?
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Attorneys who distribute crime-related settlement pro-
ceeds, without first giving CalVCP notice and reasonable 
opportunity to perfect and satisfy its lien, may be held 
liable for the loss.6

Attorneys who represent victims of crime should consult their 
clients to determine if they have received victim compensation. 

[1] Government Code Section 13963(d)

[2] Government Code Section 13963(b)

[3] Burnsed v. State Board of Control (1987) 189 Cal.App.3d 213

[4] Labor Code § (4903)(i)

[5] Government Code 13963(A)

[6] Miller v. Rau (1963) 216 Cal.App.2d 68.

Siciliano v. Fireman’s Fund (1976) 62 Cal.App.3d 745.

SPECIAL NOTE TO ATTORNEYS:

SOURCES
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California Victim  
Compensation Program 
Lien Section

P.O. Box 1348
Sacramento California 95812-1348
916.491.3766 or 800.777.9229
www.calvcp.ca.gov
liens@vcgcb.ca.gov

All languages accommodated.
Deaf and hard of hearing: Please call the
California Relay Service at 711.
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